HTML

Bori goes to Holland

Akadozó emailezések és összeegyezthetetlen szkájprandevúk helyett szerény kis beszámolók messziföldre és hazaköltözésem történéseiből. Instead of erratic email exchanges and unmanagable skype appointments, voila, a collection of humble reports of my life abroad and after moving back home.

Friss topikok

Címkék

2011.10.23. 19:32 borsincka

Ahoy Red Hot Chili Peppers!

After 10 years of active craving I have finally made it to a Red Hot Chili Peppers concert. Last Sunday, October 16th, Rotterdam, Ahoy arena. It was AWESOME.

After getting in with the crowd and putting coats down, we finally got out to the seating area, where I have to admit, I felt dizzy. It frightened me. This is how it looked like later, when it was full, shot from behind the stage:

So the crowd was MASSIVE. But my utmost respect to the organisers of Ahoy, everything went smooth and well.

I was only stressed because are actual seats were somewhere at the very back, and we were thinking about ways to get closer to the stage. In the end we were pretty lucky, we just took a few seats by chance, having an awesome view, and after being sent away 3 times we finally settled in a still very good place.There was a forband playing, Femi Kuti from Nigeria. It was lovely, but everybody was waiting for the Chili Peppers to come, so actually nobody really listened. I did dance in my chair, but those standing downstairs were mostly talking.

When the Peppers came on the scene, my last concern was: am I really supposed to sit throughout all of the concert? No way. Two guys in front of us jumped over the fences immediately when the lights were turned off. I just stood up and started screaming, and fortunately everybody in my surroundings stood up within a few minutes, so we didnt have to worry about people not seeing because of us. The whole area turned into a huge party sector. 

About the performance: I was pleased and disappointed by the repertoire at the same time. They played almost all of the big hits: Give it away, Californication, Otherside, Scar Tissue, Rain dance Maggie and of course Under the Bridge:

(Sorry, that highpitched enthusiastic voice is mine, I was close to the recorder :) )

This might sound highbrow but I found these a bit boring. I have heard their popular songs too many times, I wanted more of the less known gems. But, to my satisfaction, I did get a load of very old and "less mainstream" songs as well: Hard to Concentrate, Me and My Friends, Higher Ground, Soul to Squeeze, and to my biggest surprise Sir Psycho Sexy was on the list, followed by They're Red Hot, just for fun. :D Sir Psycho Sexy is one of the songs I have been seriously in love with, and hearing it live made me go crazy. Even crazier than I am on this pic:

You could see in the crowd that nobody really knew what this was, and I just kept shouting the lyrics in ecstasy. If you like the old Blood Sugar Sex Magik type RHCP then I seriously recommend listening to it:

They totally missed out the One Hot Minute album though, which is also sad.

All in all, guys, I have finally been at a Red Hot Chili Peppers concert. It took 10 damn years to accomplish it. Hopefully the next one wont take so long ;)

Szólj hozzá!


A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://borigoestoholland.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr453324685

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása